Back to news

Media advisory – Release of Revenue Statistics in Asia and the Pacific 2022

18/07/2022 – Achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) of the United Nations’ 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development will require the mobilisation of increasing levels of public revenue.

Revenue Statistics in Asia and the Pacific 2022 presents key indicators to track progress on domestic resource mobilisation and to inform tax policy and reform that could help fill the financing gap to fund the SDGs and build sustainable public finances after the COVID-19 crisis. The ninth edition of the report will be released on Monday, 25 July 2022.

The report provides an overview of the main taxation trends from 1990 to 2020 in 28 economies*, including Bangladesh, Cambodia, Kyrgyzstan and Pakistan for the first time. Comparisons are also made with the averages for OECD economies, 27 Latin American and Caribbean countries and 30 African countries. This edition includes a special feature that examines options for developing countries in Asia to increase tax revenues.

Revenue Statistics in Asia and the Pacific 2022 is a joint publication by the OECD Centre for Tax Policy and Administration and the OECD Development Centre, with the co-operation of the Asian Development Bank (ADB), the Pacific Islands Tax Administrators Association (PITAA) and the Pacific Community (SPC), and support from the governments of Ireland, Japan, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom. The statistics are based on the OECD Revenue Statistics database methodology, which provides internationally comparable data on tax levels and tax structures.

Revenue Statistics in Asia and the Pacific 2022 will be under embargo until Monday 25 July, 08:00 CEST (Paris time). Advance copies will be available to the media the Friday before release.

Requests for advance copies or interviews should be directed to or

In asking to receive copies under embargo, journalists undertake to respect the OECD's embargo procedures.

*Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, People's Republic of China, Cook Islands, Fiji, Indonesia, Japan, Kazakhstan, Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malaysia, the Maldives, Mongolia, Nauru, New Zealand, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tokelau, Vanuatu and Viet Nam.

Please note: The OECD's embargo rules prohibit any broadcast, news wire service or Internet transmission of text or information about this report before the stated release time. They also prohibit any communication of the contents of the report or any comment on its forecasts or conclusions to any outside party whatsoever before the stated release time. News organisations receiving OECD material under embargo have been informed that if they breach the OECD's embargo rules they will automatically be excluded in the future from receiving embargoed information.

Related Documents